Ombrelloni Ospitalità
Remains of the Basilica della Corte

Remains of the Basilica della Corte

The old town has become even more fascinating after the discovery of Paleo-Christian remains.

The Paleo-Christian remains of the Basilica della Corte, dating back to the 4th century AD, were discovered in 1902, following restoration work in Piazza Biagio Marin, in the old town of Grado; it is currently possible to see section of paving made of mosaics geometric decorations, several sarcophaguses and the walls, which outlined the plan of the building.

The area has been made accessible via glazed walkways with steel pulley, which make it more visible and create a successful combination between ancient and modern.

Just a few metres from here, the paving of the square highlights the point where the  Baptistry of the Basilica used to stand, with a perimeter made of white stone which shows the octagonal plan and semi-circular apse of the Baptistry. The lighting at night makes the place truly fascinating.




Address Piazza Biagio Marin, Grado
Telephone 0431 877111
Fax 0431 83509

Ti potrebbero interessare anche:

Art, history and culture

Basilica of Santa Maria delle Grazie

Discover its Palaeo-Christian architecture and mosaics depicting fish.

Find out more
Art, history and culture

The Early Christian Baptistery

An octagonal building in the heart of Grado.

Find out more
Art, history and culture

Lapiday of Basilica of Sant’Eufemia

A collection of artifacts with works dating back to Roman times.

Find out more

Iscriviti alla newsletter

Rimani aggiornato sulle attività e proposte a Grado iscrivendoti alla nostra newsletter mensile.